Surprise! Beyonce wins. The singer released her fifth album today, Dec. 13, with no advance hype or warning. It came out of the blue (Ivy).

There were rumors that she was planning something for December but no one was expecting a full album to come out without magazine covers, press releases, a single or any of the traditional marketing means artists employ to prepare for and then release music. It's a risky move, but this is Beyonce. She's an iconoclast.

Each song is accompanied by its own video, as well, making for her first visual album, with 14 new songs and 17 videos shot around the world in locales like Houston, New York City, Paris, Sydney and Rio de Janeiro, all before the album’s release.

The Queen Bey revealed why she chose to release the album in this fashion. She said, "I see music. It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music."

She continued, "I didn’t want to release my music the way I’ve done it. I am bored with that. I feel like I am able to speak directly to my fans. There’s so much that gets between the music, the artist and the fans. I felt like I didn’t want anybody to give the message when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans. I just want to give my album to the people I love and respect and hope that they feel the same thing I felt when I made the music."

This was Bey's strategic plan to deliver music and visual content to fans on her terms and to prevent leaks. It is about art before hype. It not a concept album but it is meant to be consumed as a comprehensive piece. It's not about singles and it's non-linear.

Physical CDs will be available in time for the holidays. It's also here.

Beyonce 'Beyonce' Track Listing:

1. 'Pretty Hurts'
2. 'Haunted'
3. 'Drunk in Love (Featuring Jay Z)
4. 'Blow/Cherry'
5. 'Angel'
6. 'Yoncé/Partition'
7. 'Jealous'
8. 'Rocket'
9. 'Mine' (Featuring Drake)
10.' XO'
11. 'Flawless' (Featuring Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
12. 'Superpower' (Featuring Frank Ocean)
13. 'Heaven'
14. 'Blue' (Featuring Blue Ivy)

Preview 'Drunk in Love'

Preview 'Pretty Hurts'

Preview 'Blue'

Preview 'Jealous'

Preview 'Rocket'

Preview 'Flawless'

Preview 'No Angel'

Preview 'Heaven'

Preview 'Partition'

Preview 'XO'

Preview 'Yonce'

Preview 'Superpower'

Preview 'Haunted'

Preview 'Mine'

Preview 'Blow'

Preview 'Ghost'